logo-full arrow-left arrow-right magnify story members projects twitter facebook youtube download
Publications

Douze jeunes, deux pays, un but : produire deux documentaires sur la riposte des jeunes au VIH et au sida. Le premier film, intitulé « The Similarities of Our Differences. The Making of One Blood Youth Linked in Action » [« Les similitudes de nos différences : documentaire sur le tournage de One Blood: Youth Linked in Action »] dévoile les coulisses de la création du second, « One Blood: Youth Linked in Action » [« Un même sang : les jeunes unis dans l’action »]. Ce documentaire qui présente les témoignages de jeunes de la Jamaïque ainsi que de jeunes Canadien-nes faisant partie de la diaspora de la Caraïbe, nous invite à un voyage dans le cœur, l’expérience et les combats des personnes qui vivent avec le VIH et le sida ou qui en sont affectées. Illustrant la synergie de jeunes d’horizons diversifiés, ce court-métrage (20 minutes) explore les liens entre les deux pays et témoigne de ce qui nous unit toutes et tous.

Quelles sont les idées fausses, les perceptions et les réponses des jeunes, à l’égard du VIH et du sida? Comment la musique et les rôles sexospécifiques contribuent-ils à la propagation du VIH? Attendez-vous à des émotions fortes, en découvrant les réponses à ces questions et à d’autres, qui témoignent des perspectives de divers jeunes et du travail d’une panoplie d’organismes impliqués dans la riposte au VIH et au sida.

(Ces deux films sont disponibles en anglais uniquement.)

Un feuillet d’information intitulé « Un même sang : les jeunes et le VIH dans la Caraïbe et la diaspora caraïbe du Canada » a été développé en accompagnement à la vidéo.

S.E. Sheila Sealy Monteith, Haut commissaire de la Jamaïque au Canada, a prononcé un discours-programme lors du déjeuner parlementaire de la Journée mondiale du sida, où le film documentaire « One Blood: Youth Linked in Action » [« Un même sang : les jeunes unis dans l’action »] a été projeté. Le texte de son discours est accessible ici. Le discours est disponible en anglais uniquement.

Les films

Trailer – One Blood: Youth Linked in Action

Film – One Blood: Youth Linked in Action

Trailer – The Similarities of Our Differences
(The Making of One Blood: Youth Linked in Action)

Film – The Similarities of Our Differences
(The Making of One Blood: Youth Linked in Action)

Feuillet d’information

UN MÊME SANG : les jeunes et le VIH dans la Caraïbe et la diaspora caraïbe du Canada

Les jeunes de la Caraïbe et de la diaspora caraïbe du Canada sont confrontés à des enjeux similaires, en ce qui a trait au risque de contracter le VIH. Le présent feuillet d’informati on met en relief divers enjeux clés qui affectent ces deux groupes. Le feuillet se veut un document d’accompagnement à la vidéo « Un même sang : les jeunes unis dans l’acti on »

Partenaires :

  • Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development (ICAD)
  • Caribbean Vulnerable Communities Coalition (CVC)
  • Somerset West Community Health Center (SWCHC)
  • The African and Caribbean Council on HIV/AIDS in Ontario (ACCHO)

Un projet réalisé avec l’appui financier du Gouvernement du Canada, par le biais de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI).

Ce projet a été financé en partie par le Syndicat des travailleurs canadiens de l’automobile (TCA-Canada).
Logo_CAW

logo-full arrow-left arrow-right magnify story members projects twitter facebook youtube download
Publications

Twelve youth, two countries, one aim: produce two documentaries exploring how youth respond to HIV and AIDS.   The first film is entitled ‘The Similarities of Our Differences. The Making of One Blood Youth Linked in Action’ and gives viewers a behind the scenes tour of the creation of the ‘One Blood:  Youth Linked in Action’ documentary.  Capturing the voices of youth from Jamaica and the Caribbean Diaspora in Canada, the ‘One Blood: Youth Linked in Action’ documentary will take you into the hearts, experiences and struggles of those living with and affected by HIV and AIDS. Recognizing the synergy of youth from diverse backgrounds, this 20-minute documentary explores the links between the two countries, acknowledging the bond that ties everyone together.

What are youth misconceptions, perceptions and responses to HIV and AIDS? How do music and gender roles contribute to its spread? Prepare for an emotional journey as these and other questions are answered, showcasing the sights and sounds of different young people and the work of a variety of organizations who are active in the response against HIV and AIDS.

This video was created by a group of 12 youth from Jamaica and Canada.

A fact sheet was developed as a companion piece to this video.

H.E. Sheila Sealy Monteith, High Commissioner for Jamaica, delievered the keynote address during the World AIDS Day Parliamentary Breakfast where the film One Blood: Youth Linked in Action was presented. The transcript of her keynote address is available here.

 

The Films

Trailer – One Blood: Youth Linked in Action

Film – One Blood: Youth Linked in Action

Trailer – The Similarities of Our Differences
(The Making of One Blood: Youth Linked in Action)

Film – The Similarities of Our Differences
(The Making of One Blood: Youth Linked in Action)

Fact Sheet

One Blood: Youth & HIV in the Caribbean and the Caribbean Diaspora in Canada

PDF

Youth from the Caribbean and the Caribbean Diaspora in Canada face many similar issues with respect to the risk of contracting HIV. This fact sheet highlights several key issues affecting both communities of young people.

This fact sheet was developed as a companion piece to the youth video “One Blood: Youth Linked in Action”.

Project Partners:

  • Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development (ICAD)
  • Caribbean Vulnerable Communities Coalition (CVC)
  • Somerset West Community Health Center (SWCHC)
  • The African and Caribbean Council on HIV/AIDS in Ontario (ACCHO)

Project undertaken with the financial support of the Government of Canada provided through the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA).

Funding for this project was provided in part by the Canadian Auto Workers union (CAW-Canada).
Logo_CAW